onlinepan.blogg.se

Create drop down list in excel 2016 for mac
Create drop down list in excel 2016 for mac







create drop down list in excel 2016 for mac
  1. #Create drop down list in excel 2016 for mac for mac
  2. #Create drop down list in excel 2016 for mac download

I can send you an example file if you want to look at it.You could be forgiven for thinking that the (confusingly named) Excel 2016 for Mac (suitable only for Apple computers) was “just the same” as Excel 2016 for Windows. I feel like there are some kind of "properties" settings that are necessary to set (for the signature box), in order for the entire photo to be shown…(?) I already tried messing with the properties including the "crop" settings, but that didn't fix it!ĭo you have any ideas as to what could be happening? But I don't think this is the proper way to fix this problem… jpg inside the cells where the signatures reside (in the separate tab). The only way I have found to rectify the issue is to shrink the size of the. I made sure that all my signatures (kept in a separate spreadsheet tab) are fully contained within the cell they are placed in, as you instructed. However, I am experiencing an issue where sometimes the signatures are larger than the "picture" where they show up (essentially the signature gets "cropped" and/or is not centered in the picture" box). I am using it to place operator signatures and checker initials at the bottom of test reports for our Mechanical Testing lab. Everyone who works in aviation maintenance knows what the arrows mean, I really don't need the letters if they do not have to be used.įirst of all, thank you for posting this – it has been very helpful. If there is a way to just have the colored arrows in the drop down list, that would be even better. Can this work and if so, will it work the same way as your pictures did in this lesson? Any help would be appreciated so much. I assumed that the shapes would work the same as your pictures do, but perhaps I was wrong. The arrow I copy and paste as you did at the end of the video does not change, or not that I can see when I select another choice in my drop down list. So when the FMC is selected I want to appropriate colored arrow to pop. Green Up Arrow = FMC, Blue Up Arrow = PMC, and a Red Down Arrow = NMC. Instead of pictures I am trying to utilize shapes, color coded up and down arrows. So, in my drop down list I show FMC, PMC, and NMC. There are (3) different status, Fully Mission Capable (FMC), Partial Mission Capable (PMC), and Non-mission Capable (NMC). I work in Aviation Maintenance and I am making a spreadsheet to show the status of the aircraft. Let me give you an idea of what I am trying to do. I am putting a little tweak to it and maybe that is where my problem lies. However, I am struggling to make it work. I enjoyed your lesson and I learned some great things from it. Now, any selection you make from the dropdown list should produce the photo of that name! Step 6: Finally, copy any of the photos to the desired location near the dropdown list, then click on the photo and in the Formula bar, enter = followed by the name of the formula from Step 5: Now, any name we call up with the dropdown list will tie to the cell reference of that name that we did in Step 4: INDIRECT converts a text string to an actual cell reference. I then wrapped the cell location in an INDIRECT function. To do this, use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + F3, then click on "New". Step 5: Click on the cell where the dropdown list is located, and create a named formula. Again, I used "Create from Selection" and named cells B2:B5 based on the names in cells A2:A5. Step 4: Name the cells where the photos are located. Step 3: Locate where you want the dropdown list, and using Data Validation – Lists, enter the list based on what you named it. I first named the list from cells A2:A5 as "Wine" using "Create from Selection" on the Formulas tab. Step 2: Create the list for your Data Validation dropdown. In a future step we will be referencing the cell where that the photo is located, so this is an important step.

create drop down list in excel 2016 for mac create drop down list in excel 2016 for mac

Step 1: Load your photos onto a worksheet, and make sure each photo is contained within a single cell. I will go through the steps in a cursory fashion below, but the video will best explain the details to accomplish this. Here are 4 photos and the names I want to associate with each:Īs with some previous blog posts, I would strongly encourage you to watch the video. The goal here is to create a dropdown list of photo names, and have the related photo appear. Many of the processes I will use here have been discussed in previous posts, so if you need a refresher on any of them, just search my site for that topic and you should find a related post.

create drop down list in excel 2016 for mac

Here is the link to the Dueling Podcast on this topic. This post came from a question asked on a LinkedIn user group forum and the response referenced a dueling podcast between Mr.

#Create drop down list in excel 2016 for mac download

If you get a preview, look for the download arrow in the upper right hand corner. You can download the file here and follow along. Here's how you can have a photo change based on the selection from a dropdown list in Excel:









Create drop down list in excel 2016 for mac